It was Colonel Mustard….in the kitchen…..with everything.

Oh Colonel Mustard, how I adore thee. Your piquant bite adds a certain je ne sais quoi to so many things! My favourite is when you conspire with Vicar Vinegar and Signor Olive Oil to whip up a positively killer vinaigrette. A close second is the zing you add when you team up with the dangerously delicious team of Madame & Monsieur Ham -Cheese-Toastie.

Apologies for the Cluedo references, I got a little carried away! Anyway, I do love mustard and use it in sandwiches, casseroles, braises, dressings & sauces; hell, I’d eat it straight from the jar in heaping spoonfuls if the ensuing heartburn wasn’t guaranteed to kill me! I am somewhat of a mustard purist though, preferring good old Dijon, or French grain mustard. Not for me, thank you, those infused with semi-dried tomatoes, honey, herbs or whatnot. If I want those flavours, I can add them myself thank you very much. With the obvious exception of semi-dried tomatoes; I don’t live in 1986. Of course, with every stringent rule I apply to my kitchen and pantry, there is an exception which breaks this rule.

I left the fingerprints on the lid as evidence for the excellent Colonel Mustard

The esteemed Tetsuya Wakuda-San sure knows how to pick them! This is made in Tasmania, using locally grown mustard seeds and wasabi, and is bursting with the flavour of fresh mustard seed, and the slow, languid burn of just enough wasabi, although it is perhaps the tiniest bit sweet for my taste. No matter, it’s really good straight from the jar adorning a juicy piece of grilled steak or salmon. Because there are no preservatives, I will have to use this rather quickly before it loses its pungency and colour, although, frankly, it’s so delicious I don’t see it lingering for long before I have to buy another jar.

Tetsuya’s Tasmanian Wasabi Mustard, I hereby promote you to Brigadier Mustard, and despite your slightly sweet nature, I’m sure you will prove invaluable in the trenches.

About janegreen

Brisbane epicurean and hedonist, working in the fine food industry by day and following her tastebuds all over the world by night. Well, every now and then. In between tasty bites, there are plenty of books, frocks and shoes. Oh, and I don't really bite. Unless provoked.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It was Colonel Mustard….in the kitchen…..with everything.

  1. Claire Stanic says:

    ohhh, I love mustard. I am definitely going to try that one as soon as I can. By the way last night I poached some chicken breasts in the Japanese stock, sliced them, poured juice over soba noodles, with sliced bok choy, shitake mushrooms and spring onion. It was absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it, it will become a permanent fixture on the Stanic menu. Thanks Miss Jane.

    • janegreen says:

      YUM!!!!! Glad you like the Japanese Magic Juice. I’m even thinking a dab of the wasabi mustard would be delicious on your lovely chicken dish there……

Leave a comment